List of all the 14 Presidents of India

KNC501/KNC601 Constitution of India, Law and Engineering

Chapter 4: President of India

Unit 1

Unit 2

Unit 3

Unit 4

Unit 5


List of all the 14 President of India

1.Dr. Rajendra Prasad26 January 1950 to 12 May 1962First president, longest tenure (12 years)
2.S. Radhakrishnan13 May 1962 to13 May 1967He was the first President from South India. Teacher’s day is celebrated on 5 Sept. to honour his birthday.
3.Dr. Zakir Hussain13 May 1967 to 3 May 1969President with the shortest tenure, first Muslim president to die in harness
4.Varahagiri Venkata Giri3 May 1969 to 20 July 1969First acting president of India
 Mohammad Hidayatullah20 July 1969 to 24 August 1969Served as the Chief Justice of India, and was a recipient of the Order of the British Empire.
 Varahagiri Venkata Giri24 August 1969 to 24 August 1974Giri is the only person to have served as both an acting president and president of India.
5.Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed24 August 1974 to 11 February 1977Second Indian president to die in office.
 Basappa Danappa Jatti11 February 1977 to 25 July 1977Served as acting President of India upon Ahmed’s death
6.Neelam Sanjiva Reddy25 July 1977 to 25 July 1982Youngest to become president @ 64 yr the first president who did not become vice-president
7.Giani Zail Singh25 July 1982 to 25 July 1987First Sikh President
8.Ramaswamy Venkataraman25 July to 1987    25 July 1992Oldest to become President @ 76 yr
9.Shankar Dayal Sharma25 July 1992 to 25 July 1997Sharma was Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh
10.Kocheril Raman Narayanan25 July 1997 to 25 July 2002He was the first President from Kerala, and also the first Dalit President.
11.Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam25 July 2002 to 25 July 2007He was the first bachelor/Scientist President of India and the first Muslim President who completed his term.
12.Pratibha Patil25 July 2007 to 25 July 2012The first woman to become the President of India
13.Pranab Mukherjee25 July 2012 to 25 July 2017Served as the Foreign Minister, Defence Minister, and Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission.
14.Ram Nath Kovind25 July 2017 to till date14th President of India

Seven Presidents have been members of a political party before being elected. Six of these were active party members of the Congress Party. Dr. Rajendra Prasad (first President of India) is the only person to have held office for two terms.

Incumbent President Ram Nath Kovind was the Governor of Bihar before becoming the President of India.

Author – Dilip Kumar Rawat

Please Share:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top